Semalt:内容速度及其对营销人员的重要性


Semalt SEO专家 解释说,测量内容速度对于任何网站都是一项重要活动。如果您希望获得有价值且可行的见解以改善策略,则这一点尤其重要。 SEO传达的质量高于数量的权利。在您的网站上刊登10,000条不良文章只会使您付出金钱,却没有带来任何回报。

尽管这是事实,但注意竞争中的立场也很重要。在您的网站上拥有5个高质量的内容很棒,但是拥有10个高质量的内容更好。这就是为什么最好了解为您的网站和竞争对手创建的内容数量的原因。

例如,假设您每两周或每月一次创建非常高质量的内容。另一方面,您的竞争者正在同时创建至少两个高质量的内容。相比之下,另一个竞争对手同时创造了4倍的数量。

您认为谁赢了?

创建最高质量内容的网站将获胜。你想赢,不是吗?关于SEO行业的一件有趣的事是将事物标记为邪恶的能力。您经常听到别人说您做得太多,否则可能造成弊大于利。他们没有告诉您的是,使用SEO,如果您可以做更多并且正确地进行操作,那么您已经为您的网站做了最好的事情。

为您的网站提供尽可能多的高质量内容是惊人的。这为您的网页和整个网站提供了更多的关键字来获得排名,更多的信息以及广泛的其他好处。这就是为什么内容速度如此重要的原因。

什么是内容速度?

内容速度只是衡量品牌在特定时期内发布的内容量。当您想比较给定期间内您的内容速度与竞争对手的内容速度时,您只需测量各方在给定期间内投放的内容量。

为什么您的内容速度很重要?

了解内容速度有很多好处,但这取决于您要提出的观点。但是,这里有一些普遍优势。

您可以要求更多的资源。

此信息的优点之一是可以开发它以获取更多资源,从而产生读者可以阅读的内容。高管讨厌失败,但是他们喜欢在竞争中领先。学习时,您的内容速度是向执行人员证明您需要更多资源才能产生更好内容的好方法。不管您这样做的目的是赶上,超越还是继续保持领先地位。

您可以确定比赛的资源。

在提出将更多资源分配给您部门的理由的相反方面,您也可以向高管提供有关其竞争状况的有用信息。很难弄清这一点,因为更多的内容很可能意味着正在发生的事情,使它们有所改进。内容较少意味着情况不如以前。这将帮助您和您的执行团队,因为他们将开始成为重要的信息来源。您还可以确定公司雇用的是自由职业者,还是两者兼而有之,规模大小不一。在您计划方法时,此信息可能对您很有用。

估算内容成本

使用此信息,您可以估算竞争对手的内容预算以及在内部花费多少。尽管这只是一个估计,但是如果您计划制作要运行的内容程序,它可以提供您可能会花费的清晰图片。

然后,您的业务团队可以找到一种方法,可以帮助您在预算中工作。

如何计算内容速度

计算内容速度可能非常简单,也可能非常复杂。以最简单的形式,它可以通过使用大多数SEO可以从SEMrush和Frog尖叫之类的工具中使用的几个标准工具来完成。对于此方法,这里有几个步骤。

您要做的第一件事就是获取网站上存在的Blogs/Articles页面。您所需要做的就是进入SEMrush,使用URL过滤器功能对那些页面的URL进行广告过滤。完成后,您将导出最终列表。计算您的内容速度非常重要,我们有整篇文章专门对其进行解释。

接下来,使用这些URL,并将它们放在尖叫的Frog中,并设置自定义提取。这样可以提取这些页面上内容的发布日期。然后,您可以分析在不同时期为网站创建内容的频率。

以下是通过XPath和RegEx发布数据的一些最受欢迎的提取类型:
  • 元数据
  • 文章架构
  • 博客发布架构
尽管这些方法无法解决每个站点的问题,但导航这些站点以查看发布日期的处理方式并不难。您也可以从那里设置自定义提取。爬网通过URL运行后,您将获得一个发布日期列表。

这可以帮助您查看一段时间内正在创建的内容量。

注意: 您应该尝试在此过程中尽量利用本文的作者,我们将在本文后面进行讨论。

您可以为所有竞争对手重复此过程,以获取其速度指标的详细数据库,并比较谁目前是赢家还是输家。要进行更详细的分析,您可以查看其他指标,例如字数统计。这样,您将看到每个内容的长度以及在每个页面内容上花费的估计费用。

他们的支出清楚地表明了您需要花费多少才能参与竞争。为此,您所需要做的就是保持警惕,以找出自由职业者的估计费用。利用这些信息和内容中的单词数,您可以计算出竞争对手在内容上花费的平均金额。

这样,您就可以准备合适的工具来击败竞争对手。您还知道预算的最有效金额。

如果您正确地遵循了该过程,则可以在一定时期内显示以下内容:
  • 创建的新页面数。
  • 每周创建的平均页面数。
  • 内容的平均字数
  • 制作内容的成本
这些参数可以用来估计您在与客户和董事会成员的竞争中所处的位置。如果您想赢得互联网用户的青睐,还可以计划内容程序的结构。现在,您可以精心塑造完美的策略来击败其他网站或与其他网站竞争。

当您准备将其进一步发展时,您可以很好地猜测作家和SEO团队的比赛情况。通过仔细分析这些信息,您可以创建有关其他团队的结构的生动概况。

另一个途径是访问LinkedIn并手动搜索人员。可以将其视为特殊形式的某种形式。在标题中搜索“内容”,“ SEO”,“文案”,以查看谁出现了。这样,您就可以清楚地了解其他团队的情况。

结论

没有多少人关心内容的速度。但是,它是那些小巧但功能强大的工具之一。每个人都太在乎如何创建高质量的内容并继续这样做。

很少有网站和组织会花时间调查其竞争网站上的内容类型以及在给定的时间范围内产生了多少内容。但是,这些公司正在寻找获取此类关键信息的方法。不知不觉中,它一直盯着他们。

毫无疑问,确定内容速度很耗时,但是它弥补了在输出中花费的所有时间和精力。它提供的信息非常重要,以至于对您的公司而言是巨大的利益。

在整个过程中,您已经获取了许多不同的数据点,这些数据点需要进行排序以提供其中包含的黄金。通常,需要付出的努力通常取决于您想走的深度。这并不只是关于创造出色的内容;您不仅应该尝试匹配这些内容,而且还要超越竞争对手,来创建这些内容。如果您努力创造与比赛一样多的精彩内容,这将很有帮助,因为它赢得了他们所拥有的一些主流流量。有了一致性,您将能够长期保持领先地位。

Semalt: Content Velocity And Why It Matters To Marketers 


Semalt SEO experts explain that measuring your content velocity is an important activity for any website. This is particularly important if you are looking to gain valuable and actionable insights to improve your strategy. Quality over quantity right that has been the message of SEO. Having 10,000 bad articles on your website would only cost you money without bringing any returns. 

While this is true, it is also important that you note where you stand with your competition. Having 5 high-quality content on your site is great but having 10 high-quality content is better. This is why it is good to know the amount of content being created for your website and your competition.

For example, let's say you create very high-quality content once every two weeks or on a monthly bases. Your competition, on the other hand, is creating at least two high-quality content at that same time. In comparison, another competitor is creating 4 times the amount at the same time.

Who do you think wins? 

The website creating the most high-quality content wins. And you want to win, don't you? One funny thing about the SEO industry is the ability to mark things evil. You often hear people say when you do too much, or you might cause more harm than good. What they fail to tell you is that with SEO, if you can do more and do it correctly, you've done the best thing possible for your website.

Having as much high-quality content as possible for your website is amazing. This gives your webpages and the entire website more keywords to get ranked on, more information, and a wide range of other benefits. This is why content velocity is so important.

What is content Velocity?

Content velocity is simply measuring the amount of content a brand is publishing during a particular period. When you want to compare your content velocity with that of your competitors within a given period, you would simply measure how much content all parties put out in a given period.

Why does your content velocity matter? 

There are several benefits of knowing your content velocity, but this depends on the point you're trying to make. However, here are some universal advantages.

You can demand more resources.

One advantage of this information is that it can be developed to get more resources, producing content your readers can read. Executives hate losing, but they love being ahead of their competition. When you study, your content velocity is a great way to prove to your executives that you need more resources to produce better content. Regardless that your objective of doing this is to catch up, overtake, or to continue staying ahead of the competition.

You can determine your competition's resources.

On the opposite side of making a case to have more resources diverted to your department, you can also feed the executives useful information on how well their competitions are fending. This isn't hard to figure out as more content most likely means something's going on over there, making them improve. And fewer contents means things aren't as good as they previously were. This helps you and your executive team as they will begin to as a critical source of information.  You can also determine if a company has a large or small team if they hire freelancers or a mix of both.  This information can be of great use to you as you plan your approach.

Estimating the cost of content

Using this information, you can estimate the content budget of your competitors and how much it will cost you internally. Although this is only an estimation, it gives a clear picture you're likely to spend if you plan on making the content program you want to run.

Your business team can then find an approach that can help it work in your budget. 

How to calculate the content velocity

Calculating content velocity can be pretty simple or quite complicated. In its simplest forms, it could be done by using only a couple of standard tools that most SEOs have access to from the likes of SEMrush and screaming Frog. For this method, here are a couple of steps.

The first thing you'd want to do is get the Blogs/Articles pages that exist on the site. All you need do is go into SEMrush, ad filter those pages URLs using the URL filter function. Once it's done, you export the final list. Calculating your content velocity is so important we have an entire article dedicated to explaining it. 

Next, you take up those URLs and put them onto a screaming Frog and set up a custom extraction. This pulls out the publishing dates of the content on these pages. You can then analyze how often contents are being created for the site at different periods.

Here are some of the most popular types of extractions for publishing date through XPath  and RegEx are:
  • Metadata
  • Article schema
  • Blog posting schema
While these wouldn't address every site, navigating those sites to see how the publishing dates are handled wouldn't be so difficult. You can also set up custom extraction from there. Once the crawl runs through the URLs, you will have a list of the publishing dates.

This helps you see the amount of content that is being created for some time.

Note: you should try to pull the author of the article if available during this process, we will discuss later on in this article. 

You can repeat this process for all your competitors to have a detailed database of their velocity metrics and compare who is currently winning and losing. To have a more detailed analysis, you can look into other metrics, such as word count. With this, you will see the length of each content and the estimated cost spent on each page of content.

Their spending is a clear indicator of how much you need to spend to compete. To do this, all you need is to keep your ears open to find out the estimated cost of a freelancer. With that information and the number of words in the content, you can calculate the average amount your competition spends on content.

This way, you can prepare with the right tools to defeat your competition. You also know the most effective amount for your budget.

If you followed the process correctly, you would be able to show that within a certain period, the following:
  • The number of new pages created. 
  • The average number of pages created weekly. 
  • The average word count of contents
  • The cost of producing content
These are parameters you can use to estimate where you stand against your competition to your clients and board members. You can also plan out how your content program needs to e structured if you play to sway the favor of internet users. Now you can carefully mold the perfect strategy to beat or compete with other websites. 

When you are ready to take it a step further, you can get a good guess of what the competitions Writers and SEO teams look like. With these bits of information carefully analyzed, you can create a vivid profile on how other teams are structured.

Another path is to visit LinkedIn and search for folks manually. Think of it as some form of special reckon. Search for "Content," "SEO," "copywriter," in their titles to see who comes up. With this, you get a clear picture of what the other teams look like.

Conclusion

Not so many people care about content velocity. However, it is one of those little but yet powerful tool. Everyone is too bothered caring about how to create quality content and to keep doing that.

Very few websites and organizations take time to look into what types of content are on their competition site and how much content is produced in a given time frame. However, such companies are looking for ways to get such critical information. Unknowingly, it has always been staring them in the face.

Figuring the content velocity is time-consuming, no doubt, but it makes up for all the time and effort invested in its output. The information it provides is so important that its benefits are vast to your company.

During the entire process, you have taken in many different data points that will need sorting to provide the gold it contains. Typically, the effort requires usually depends on how deep you want to go. It isn't all about creating great content; you should try to create these content not only to match but surpass your competition. It would help if you endeavored to create as much great content as your competition, which is winning to get some of the mainstream traffic they have. With consistency, you will be able to stay ahead of them in the long term.